Delaware Valley Irish Hall of Fame announces 2018 Honorees

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Delaware Valley Irish Hall of Fame Announces 2018 Honorees

Philadelphia, PA, (27 July 2018) – The Board of Directors of the Delaware Valley Irish Hall of Fame is pleased to announce its 2018 honorees: Denise Foley, Pearse Kerr, and Sister Frances Kirk, SSJ. This year’s Commodore John Barry Award will be presented to Sister James Ann Feerick, IHM. As in previous years, the slate of honorees represents the vibrant and dynamic Irish-American community across the Delaware Valley.

The Delaware Valley Irish Hall of Fame (DVIHOF) seeks to honor and recognize those in the Irish Community who play a role in preserving, maintaining or continuing Irish traditions through a variety of channels including art, poetry, sport, music, dance, and more. Since 2001, the Hall of Fame has fulfilled its mission by presenting 3 – 4 awards annually.

The Irish of the Delaware Valley have selected Denise Foley in recognition of her outstanding photo journalism, which showcases a community of very dynamic, diverse, and passionate people, much like Denise herself. Her work will be an historical treasure for generations to come.

Pearse Kerr has been selected in recognition of his dedication to promote the Irish heritage through his involvement in, and support of, many Irish organizations.  Pearse has been a leader in the Ancient Order of Hibernians, serving as current county board Vice President for Philadelphia. He has been an officer on the Pennsylvania Board and is a Past President of AOH Division 25. Pearse is a great friend of the Duffy’s Cut Project, leading, among other activities, the yearly effort to help clean the Duffy’s Cut site. Pearse is also director and co-founder of the Patrick Kerr Scholarship Fund at Roman Catholic High School. This fund has awarded more than 50 scholarships over the past decade.

Sister Frances Kirk, SSJ has been selected in recognition of her work as the Delaware Valley’s chairperson/organizer of Project Children, a program that provided a summer holiday in the U.S. away from the “Troubles” for thousands of Catholic and Protestant children. Sister Frances recruited volunteers to help raise funds and house and sponsor these children to come to the U.S. Sister is a member of the Sisters of St. Joseph and was also the first nun to be grand marshal of the Philadelphia St. Patrick’s Day Parade in 1990.

Sister James Ann Feerick, IHM will receive the 2018 Commodore John Barry Award for her dedication to children as a Catholic educator and her service to the Irish community. Sister is chaplain for the Philadelphia St. Patrick’s Day Observance Committee and the Mayo Association of Philadelphia – and is a superb Irish dancer.

Tickets and program ads are available by contacting any of the following DVIHOF board member:

Sean McMenamin 215-663-2328;
Kathy McGee Burns 215-872-1305;
Therese Trainer 610 664-4362;
Tom Farrelly 610-527-2406;
Bill Donahue 215-886-3669;
Lisa Maloney 215-514-1654

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s